Almost all tokens have a CMC of 0, so a newly played Ratchet Bomb can immediately kill them. The exception is tokens that are copies of creatures (via Rite of Replication or Cackling Counterpart, for instance). These tokens will have the same CMC as the creature they’re copying.
Do token copies have the same CMC?
If a token is a copy of another permanent or card, then it has all of the characteristics of the original, including its mana cost. So, it’s converted mana cost is the same as the converted mana cost of the original permanent.
Do copies have a CMC?
Mana cost is a copiable value. The copy will have the same CMC as whatever it’s copying.
Do token copies have devotion?
A token copy of a card will have the same mana cost as the original, and count the same for devotion. Note that this also means that token copies do also have the same CMC as whatever they are copying, not necessarily zero.
Do token copies have abilities?
Token copies enter the battlefield and trigger any relevant abilities. They also trigger any dies or leaves the battlefield triggers when they die, though once in the graveyard they stop existing they still hit the graveyard to trigger those abilities. The token has the abilities of what it copies.
Are tokens considered 0 mana?
A token doesn’t have any characteristics not defined by the spell or ability that created it. Example: Sprout is an instant that says “Put a 1/1 green Saproling creature token onto the battlefield.” The resulting token has no mana cost, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, or abilities.
Are tokens permanents in MTG?
A card or token becomes a permanent as it enters the battlefield and it stops being a permanent as it’s moved to another zone by an effect or rule. 110.2. A permanent’s owner is the same as the owner of the card that represents it (unless it’s a token; see rule 111.2).
Are tokens permanents?
Yes, tokens on the battlefield are permanents.
Do tokens go to the graveyard?
A: Tokens go to the graveyard as regular creatures, and are removed as a “state-based effect” when a player gets priority again. They stay in the graveyard long enough to trigger abilities, like the one of Soulcatchers’ Aerie, before they are removed.
Does sculpting steel copy CMC?
Thank you! I’m then assuming Sculpting Steel does the same. Yes, any clone card copies the mana cost of what it copies.
Do Scute swarm tokens have CMC?
Scute Swarm copies retain the CMC of the original Scute Swarm. Their mana cost is NOT zero.
What is the CMC of Scute swarm tokens?
Normally tokens converted mana cost (cmc) is zero…. so why is it that Scute Swarm tokens have a cmc of 3?
Do black tokens count towards devotion?
The only way for a token to contribute towards devotion is if the token has a converted mana cost (i.e. see Pack Rat).
Can you copy Lithoform engine?
Lithoform Engine’s first ability targets an activated or triggered ability that is on the stack and creates another instance of that ability on the stack. … Lithoform Engine can copy any spell or ability on the stack, not just one with targets.
Is MTG a copy cast?
To copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated. … A copy of a spell is itself a spell, even though it has no spell card associated with it.